1970 as a turning point

Otto Masson

I was just watching the Bangladesh concert and the documentary about it, absolutely wonderful ...They interview Jann Wenner from Rolling Stone magazine on the documentary and he's talking about the great sort of disruption in rock & roll as the sixties came to an end, with Janis, Jimi and Jim Morrison all dying, The Rolling Stones having a disaster in Altamont and The Beatles quitting.

Obviously, I have no direct experience of this shift myself, being both too young and living in Iceland. But even if I didn‘t experience this watershed myself, it‘s something one can‘t help thinking about, and to me it seems perhaps exaggerated in many accounts of it. Now, Altamont was a bad thing, certainly, but it was mainly a stupid decision to rely on Hell's Angels, and somebody died ... hardly by itself the end of the hippie ideal or anything, although tragic. If anything the mess going on at the 1969 Isle of Wight festival seems to have been more troubling in terms of bursting the hippie rhetoric balloon. And the thing is, The Rolling Stones not only went on after Altamont - they released some of their best albums ever in 1971-1972 (Sticky Fingers and Exile on Main Street). The Who were also midway through their strongest period, releasing Who's Next in 1971 and then Quadrophenia.