Cleveland 4/28/77

ZepFanatic

Wow, I was trying to be respectful of forum guidelines and not post links or websites. I sent a pm(which means PRIVATE message) and it was censored. I have to say bullshit. If thats the case then make it clear that pms will be screened as well as the forums.

I've got this LP. It's the Destroyer. It's a four LP Box set. It came in a black box. inside is a sheet of paper with a battle scene on it and a list of the songs. It doesn't have Stairway. My friend has the previous night on LP and it does have Stairway.

It also has a very cool version of the star spangled banner. If I remember right the sound gets really loud, not sure if it's a technical screwup or a jp masterpiece.

I was a student at Ohio State in Columbus, Ohio when this concert took place.

Alot of guys from my dorm drove to Cleveland's Richfield Coluseum for this concert. I remember that it was mid-week and I was thinking how stupid they were to make this road trip and miss classes and mid-term exams just to see this band that I wasn't particularly crazy about at the time! :lol:

How stupid of me to not recognize what a fantastic opportunity it was to see the greatest band of all time. They would never play in the USA again after this tour.

By the way, the people who went couldn't stop talking about the concert for weeks! They said it was fantastic!

For latter period Zeppelin, it's an excellent show- certainly representative of a "good night", which were few and far between post '73, IMO. Decent recording, too, in spite of the cuts.

...and, as you can tell by my nickname, the Tchaikovsky interlude in "No Quarter" is fucking brilliant! :D

A soundboard simply wouldn't do this show justice, though it'd make for an interesting matrix...

For latter period Zeppelin, it's an excellent show- certainly representative of a "good night", which were few and far between post '73, IMO. Decent recording, too, in spite of the cuts.