Best Wah Songs

What are your favorite wah songs? I've been thinking about this a lot recently, and figured I'd write about it after I saw a thread in the Musician's Corner called "Wah Wars" (about Vox vs. Cry Baby).

The wah is a really cool effects pedal. It modifies the tone of a signal to sound like a human when he/she is saying "wah". That's my understanding of it - I'm not an electrician. It emerged in the mid '60s as a tool for the psychedelic guitarist being popularized by the some of the innovators of the day like Hendrix and Clapton.

My favorite wah songs:

1. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" - The Jimi Hendrix Experience.

Just mind-blowing. It transcends the label of psychedelic. Uses the Vox.

2. "White Room" - Cream.

With "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)", the two classic wah songs. Uses the Cry Baby.

3. "Dazed and Confused" - Led Zeppelin.

The wah work here isn't as substantial as the first two, but it's still worthy. Page gets a sharper tone with the wah than Hendrix or Clapton.

4. "Bulls on Parade" - Rage Against the Machine.

Morello uses the wah in a supporting riff.

5. "25 or 6 to 4" - Chicago.

Only started listening to Chicago recently, but as somebody in my "Rank of Electric Guitarists" thread said, Terry Kath was a master of the wah.

"Algo ha cambiado" and "Adonde esta la libertad" - Pappo's Blues

"Automatic Fantastic" - Brant Bjork

"Tales of Brave Ulysses" and "White Room" - Cream

"Split Part 1 and 2" - Groundhogs

"Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)" - The Jimi Hendrix Experience

"Introduction" and "I Just Don't Know" - Radio Moscow

Sweet Child o' Mine - Guns N' Roses. Probably the best wah solo you'll ever hear. Also, Civil War, another great song. Slash rips on both of them and on Slither too, by Velvet Revolver.

Virtuosos like Steve Vai and Joe Satriani create masterpieces with a wah pedal: see Bad Horsie by Vai and Summer Song or Surfing with the Alien by Joe.

Not to mention Jimi... :)