What is wrong with universities today?

tangerinedream

Here is an interesting video on today's university students.

For people who are currently enrolled in college:

1. If you could change three things about university classes, what would those three things be?
  2. If you could change three things about university professors, what would those three things be?
  3. On a scale of 1-10, how bad do most professors suck?
  4. What about them makes them suck so badly?
  5. What should university teachers do instead of what they are doing?
  6. What changes to the way universities are set up might improve the educational experience for college students?

Thanks for any responses you might care to offer.

~tangerinedream~

Hmm.... I am currently a University student. I am attending a private university though - does that count?

I'm going to come back and answer these questions later when I have more time to contemplate them.

Make it cheaper so everyone can go and afford it. Limit sororities and fraternities- they are so stupid and pointless. Pay more attention to student surveys of professors- if more than half the class is failing the prof is doing something wrong.

Bear in mind that students also need to be prepared academically for college-level study, and to act like responsible adults when they need to. It's not all one-sided. I can't pretend I never partied and turned in late assignments etc. when I was in college, but I did learn about the need to straighten up when it was important. Not all students get that message.

I'm not denying that many professors are ineffective, simply saying that the education experience is a two-way street.

[*]If you could change three things about university classes, what would those three things be?